Around 1972/73, me and my Best friend at that time started working for a local Fast Food Outlet in the Summertime in our Town, This was my first Full Time job so being young, all my money I earned, I spent!
And what I spent it on was Music Cassettes, as I had just got a Portable Cassette Recorder, (what at that time was a hip item!) I needed Tapes to play on it.

By this time I was tired of the Pop Music I had been listening to, so as I said before I had heard a bit of Motown around a friends house and other places, so I started buying Motown Tapes and I brought plenty, I can recall firstly buying Diana ross and the Supremes, Junior Walker and the All Stars, The Four Tops, The Temptations, Smokey Robinson and the Miracles and so on! I still have a couple of Diana Ross Tapes in my loft!

During that Summer of work, every opportunity I had I went to our Town Centre and purchased Music Tapes, by the end of the Summer Season, I think I had about 50 different Tapes, aswell as Motown, I brought tapes by other Artists including The Three Degrees, Gladys Knight and the Pips, Stylistics etc.

At that time (early to mid 70’s) there was’nt that much stuff available in our small Town, I suppose if I was older there might have been! ie going further afield to find it or Mail Order, (I always remember in the summer of 1974, during the Summer months, “Rock your baby” by George Mcrae, was number 1 in the Pop Charts for weeks!) so around that period until the time I left School (1975) Motown was the only type of Music I brought!

Leave a comment