STILL HOMELESS! and FINALLY SOME HELP!

Posted: October 5, 2009 in HOSPITAL, house, parents, phyllis flaxman, susan

This is the house we moved into, front and side photos. We lived in the room, 1st floor on the right, our room included the side window!

So now we had a Sick Son and nowhere to live again, Susan had came out of Hospital the day Nathan had his Operation and and we were staying with my family, who luckily lived 5 minutes from the Hospital.

We had no money to buy a House and in them days there wasn’t to much private rent unless you had a well paid job, which I didn’t!

So we started visting the local Council most days to try and get on the Housing Waiting list, to get a Council House!

I remember visiting there loads of times, without luck! and then one Day we met a Lady by the name of Phyllis Flaxman, I believe she was the Housing Officer, anyway after a few visits she said she may be able to get us a room in a large local Council House with about 9 other Families, you had to share all other facilities, ie Kitchen, Dining Room, TV Room etc.

We stayed at my Parents House for about 2 weeks, this was not ideal as my Parents, really did not want us there! especially my Mother, who did not like Susan, so the quicker we got out of there, the better!

With having a Sick Child and nowhere to live! you would have thought both sets of Parents would have put their differences aside, to help us! but they didn’t!

With the help of Phyllis Flaxman (which we were always grateful for this help), we finally got the move to the council house and out of my Parents House, which was a relief!

This was around the last week in September 1978.

Comments
  1. Crimhead420 says:

    Hello Friend. 
     I have added your link to my blog as you requested. 
    Please add mine to yours as well, thank you very much. 
    Crim.

    http://jazz-rock-fusion-guitar.blogspot.com/

Leave a comment