Archive for January 17, 2010



The Summer of 1979, we were still living in the same place (one room really) we used to go out as much as possible, as I remember it was a decent Summer weather wise!

I was still working as a Trainee Chef in the same Hotel, I got on with most of the Chefs, but the difference was they were all single and I was Married with a Baby, so I didnt go out with any of them, they would be drinking at the Bar attached to the Hotel, during working hours & sometimes when they had time off!

Fournately that Summer, we had a new Chef came to work at the Hotel, he was about 26 years old, about 6 years older than me, but married with a couple of kids, so I had quite a bit in common with him, his name was Bob Gaunt & he only lived around the corner from us, so that Summer we see quite a bit of him & his family, although Susan says she cant ever remember going around anyones at that time!

I cant remember his Wifes or his Kids names though, must be old age!

He at that time was a good colleague & friend to us but I cant remember what happened to him, whether he left the Hotel, although later that year, I left the Hotel & Catering Trade for a few years!

Perhaps one day he will read this Blog!

Another Trainee Chef I got on really well was a lad by the name of Mark Davidson, he was only about 18 & from Sheffield, I wander what happened to him also!