WORKMATES & STANLEY TURRENTINE!

Posted: October 18, 2010 in bike, bransby, EARTH WIND AND FIRE, larry dunn, stanley turrentine, susan

 I remember when I was working at Bransbys Meat Factory Around the middle of 1981, I used to Bike to work, I only lived about 10 minutes away, that was the only Good Thing about Working there!

Most of the Blokes who Worked on my Section, were Alright! One had a Motorbike, so of course He had loads of Long Hair, and Stunk of Grease! another 2 of them were Right Know it All’s, come to think about it,  in fact 3 of them were like that!

The Chap who made the Sausages was a Right Big Head, and we had another one who Worked Next to me most of the time, how can I say it, he was the sort of Chap who Skived off alot (most of us did!) and was very Concerned who I had been Talking to and who I had been standing near the previous day!

One of the better places to Skive off was the Smoke House, although it was a bit Smelly, it was always Hot!

The 2 Chaps in Charge of the Smoke House were a bit Younger than me, their Names were “Robin and I cant remember the others name”, but they were  Probably the 2 best Workers there!

There was plenty of  Overtime available there, but I never did any, because I Really Hated the place!

I always Regretted, Leaving my Previous Employment and starting Work there!

Music of that time, I remember Buying a Commercial Jazz Album, Called “Tender Togetherness” by Stanley Turrentine, (This was my First Album I had purchased by Stanley Turrentine) it was Produced by Larry Dunn of Earth Wind & Fire.

The Album Featured some Great Musicians, ie Several members of  EW&F including Philip Bailey and the “Phenix Horns”, as well as Nathan East, Paulinho DaCosta, Ndugu Chancler, Have a Listen to a few of the Tracks, especially the EW&F Cover!

My Favorite is Hermanos, have a Listen!

Leave a comment