Archive for October 9, 2011


The Day after the Fall, I was Aching like Hell all day long, we had our breakfast and then it was over to the Main meeting Area to be told about where we were Working and Living for the next Fortnight!


I was allocated to the Contractors side of the Rig, which meant me and the Steward were looking after about 20 Blokes, who did not work on the Platform full-Time, but now and then.


I had my own Smaller Kitchen/Galley and eating area, to look after, which was Great, we were then shown to our own Sleeping Area/Cabin, it was a lot Better than the place where we had Slept  the Night before and the Bad Memories from last night!

We got all our Stuff into our Rooms then we were off to Work, as it turned out, the Staff who were Leaving the Company (who I worked for) were staying on 1 more day to show us the ropes!


The Old Boy I was replacing was about 55 years old, (actually I still see him sometimes in the Town where I Live now) he showed me what to do and what to expect, it seemed straight forward enough!


I helped him Cook Lunch and Supper/Dinner and about 6pm that night, he was on the Helicopter and gone (back Home)!


I worked 7am to 7pm with a couple of Hours off in the Afternoon, it was not to strict on Hours, as long as you got the Job done!



That night after Dinner, I went back to our Cabin, which I was sharing with the Steward “Peter” he told me about His day, as I told him about mine, after which we got all our Clothes/Belongings etc etc unpacked and put away and went over to the main section of the Rig to see all the other Rig Workers for a Chat and play Pool.


Our First Day was over at about 11pm and we went back to our Cabin for some Sleep, I forgot to mention, in my First 24 Hours on the Rig, the fire Alarm had gone off at least 6 Times!


=============================================


As for some Great Soul Music, back in 1987, Glenn Jones Released his Self-Titled Forth Album on Jive Records, it contained a Fantastic Track called “At Last” it was written by Glenn Jones and Timmy Allen (he also Produced the Track) it was Surprisingly Never Released as a Single, in my Opinion its the Best Track Glenn Jones ever Recorded!


Incidentally Timmy Allen used to be in the Group “Change” it also Featured some Great Backing Singer’s including Timmy Allen, Genobia Jeter and BJ Nelson.





http://ws.amazon.co.uk/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&MarketPlace=GB&ID=V20070822%2FGB%2Ffunkysoulviny-21%2F8010%2F9376b48f-4abc-4e4e-bab7-d7ba32141f6a&Operation=GetDisplayTemplate <A HREF=”http://ws.amazon.co.uk/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&MarketPlace=GB&ID=V20070822%2FGB%2Ffunkysoulviny-21%2F8010%2F9376b48f-4abc-4e4e-bab7-d7ba32141f6a&Operation=NoScript”>Amazon.co.uk Widgets</A>