Archive for December 10, 2011


In this Series of Posts, I will writing about a Particular Classic Soul/Funk Album from the 60’s 70’s and 80’s


The one’s that stand out in my Mind, as The Best Soul/Funk/Jazz/R&B Albums ever Released. All of them, I purchased on Vinyl many Years ago and also I have them on CD today.

You may have a Differing view (as we all do) on these Choices, but these are my Favorites!

Number 12…LOVE ON DELIVERY…THE REFLECTIONS

Back in 1975 Before the Internet and Living in a Small Town in Norfolk UK, the only way to Hear New Soul Music was on the Radio now and again, but mostly just the Commercial Stuff, so Most of the time, unless the Bands/Singer’s were in the Charts, you just either Ordered an Album or Brought what they had!


Luckily around 1975 time, as Previously Mentioned on this Blog, we had a Great Record Shop opened Called “Airfield Tapes & Records 2” they used to have Plenty of Imported Soul /Funk Albums from the US! 


This is where I found this Album, what a Great Album, I knew Nothing of the Band back then and I don’t know to much more now!

The Band were Formed in 1971 in Harlem New York and consisted of 4 Members : Herman Edwards, Josh Pridgen, Edward “Butch” Simmons and John Simmons 
(Simmons Died in March of 1989).


The Band were Discovered by Melba Moore Shortly afterwards, who then had them as her Backing Vocalist’s for Her Tour in 1972.


This Album was Released on Capitol Records in 1975 and Produced by (amongst other’s) JR Bailey, it was The Reflections only Album they ever Recorded. 



Apparently there was 4 Single Releases, all Reaching the R&B Charts in the US (Positions next to Single) also “Three Steps to True Love” made the US Billboard Chart @ Number 94, their only Pop Success!




Three Steps To True Love : June 1975 : Number 9
Love On Delivery : October 1975 : Number 58
Day After Day : February 1976 : Number 37
Gift Wrap My Love : December 1976 : Number 66


I said Apparently, the Reason for saying this is, “Gift Wrap My Love” was not on the Album, but it says on the Website where I found this Info, it was Backed with “She’s My Summer Breeze” on the “B” Side, which was a “Reflections” Track….So you Make up your own Mind! 


Incidentally “She’s My Summer Breeze” was very Popular Year’s Later on the “Rare Groove Scene” in the UK.


My Favorite Tracks in order of Preference are Tracks: 6, 1, 2, 7, 5.


This Single (left) was a “B” side to Track “Three Steps To True Love”


1: Day after day (night after night) 4.36
2: Love on delivery (lod) 5.30
3: Now you’re taken your love 5.40
4: Are you ready (here I am) 3.49
5: She’s my summer breeze 4.23
6: All day all night (runnin’ around) 3.31
7: One into one 4.15
8: Telephone lover 4.03
9:  How could we let the love get away 4.12
10: Three steps from true love 3.43   

DOWNLOAD THE ALBUM.

http://grooveshark.com/widget.swf

Does anybody Reading this Post, know of another Great Album I Purchased around the same time of 1975, It was a Self-Titled album by a Soul band Called “Revelation” on the RSO Record Label.

I believe there were 4 Members, one being “Arnold McCuller”
I have found his website, and found out Revelation Toured during the 70’s with Acts like The Bee Gees (on the same record Label) Smokey Robinson, Isaac Hayes and Millie Jackson. I will keep searching!