My Last Music Post Concerned the Poll I am Running on “Greatest Soul Singer of All Time” (over to the Right of this Blog), I have now Finished Featuring All 11 Artists, one by one over about a 5 Month Period. 


At Present Marvin Gaye is Top of the List  with Al Green in Second Place, these 2 are my Top 2 Choices, apart from I would have had Al Green at the Top!

I am Very surprised there are No Votes for Eugene Record (Lead Singer with the Chi-Lites) I am Sure The Chi-lites will be Right near the Top of a “Soul Music Band” Poll.

Perhaps I will have a Poll for “The Top Soul Music Band of All-Time” sometime in the Future!


Anyway back to the Present, I have just Started a New Poll (to the Right of this Blog) on “Who’s the Greatest Funk Bass Player” Please have a Vote (on Both Categories) after you have Finished Reading this Post, also Please Press the “Opinions” Button on Top left of Voting Widget to Leave Your Views!


There’s some Great Bass Player’s in the Poll, including:
Bootsy Collins, Mark Adams (of Slave), Marcus Miller, Stanley Clarke, Louis Johnson (of the Johnson Brothers), Verdine White (of Earth Wind & Fire), Bernard Edwards (of Chic)Mark King (of Level 42), Larry Graham (of Sly & the Family Stone & Graham Central Station) and Victor Wooton (of SMV).

My Favorite Bassist (and got my Vote) is Mark Adams of Slave, who I saw Live in Concert back in 1984, Probably One of the Best Concert I have Seen, He was a Marvelous Bass Player, and the Stand Out Feature on Most of Slaves Great Track’s!



I also saw Level 42 Live in Concert back Around 1985, again Mark King was Great and by Far the Best British Bassist of All-Time!

I will do the same with this Poll as my Previous one and Feature all the Artist’s one by one (2 a Month) over the Coming Month’s, I will Write a Bio with Fact’s and Figure’s concerning each of the Artist’s, I will also include some of their Greatest Track’s and Video’s.


One Bassist worth Featuring now (I did not put in Poll for obvious Reasons) is Robert Gordon, he used to be Part of Gil Scott-Heron‘s Backing Band “Amnesia Express” during the 80’s, I saw GSH live back in the Mid 80’s, but he was Performing Solo.

Robert Gordon was Featured Playing Bass with GSH on his TV Special back in 1983 called “Black Wax”, I have Featured this Program before on this Blog, but its worth another Mention.

Press the “Black Wax” Link Above to View Video in Full.


Have a Look at the Video “Waiting For The Axe To Fall” by GSH & Featuring Robert Gordon on Bass, its one of my Favorite GSH Track’s and Robert Gordon is Magnificent on Bass!




Please Re-Visit over the Coming Month’s for All Future Post’s on “Who’s the Greatest Funk Bass Player” 

Related articles

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    I have sean 8 out ot 10 of the bass player you have named all are Grate Bass Players can't take nothing away. but 7 out of the 8 played flawlissly.the one who played like a studio musician was Louis Jonson he came up short that night I was not impressed g

  2. hello ggreat comment, any more storiea on the bass players!fsv

Leave a comment