Archive for March 28, 2010




If you have read my Previous Two Entries concerning this Subject, you will know I have seen some Great Groups and Singers over some 30 Years!


But the one Person I would love to see in Concert is my Favorite Singer of All Time…. Al Green

Going back to late part of 2008, when my 50th Birthday was coming up, my Wife Susan asked what Special Present I would like, I had several ideas in mind and one of the Main things was to See Al Green in Concert!

So we set about looking to see if and when Al Green was coming over to the UK, and would you believe it he was already over Touring in the UK, I was too late, so me and Susan made a promise if Al Green came to the UK again in the future, We would make Sure we get to see him!

I ended up with a 47in LCD TV and a Computer, so I didn’t go without!

I have since that time always kept an Eye on any Tour dates by Al Green!

This brings me to last week, Thursday to be precise, I was looking at my page on Last FM, when I saw an Advert for a Concert date for The Temptations and The Four Tops at the O2 Arena in London!

I thought I would have a look to see what Original Members both Groups still have, I think it was 3 between them!

Any way I was on the O2 Arenas front page when an Advert popped up which featured Al Green and Michael McDonald, I couldn’t believe it!

I told Susan and the first thing she said was “Get 2 Tickets”

Another piece of Luck was, the Tickets were going on Sale the NextDay,I couldn’t wait to get them!


While waiting for Friday to come, I went on Internet to get an idea about what Price the Tickets would Cost, to my surprise some Companies were asking around £130, a chap on Ebay was asking £399!

I was at my PC at 9am last Friday morning and within 10 minutes I had 2 Tickets to see in my opinion the Greatest Soul Singer of All Time!

The Price was less than half of the first quote I saw, so we were Happy with that!

I would have preferred to have seen Al Green on his own (as we would have seen him sing more of his Songs) but Michael McDonald is a Great Singer, with “Yah Mo be There” being a Classic!

So we are counting the Days down until 26th June 2010!

I will obviously be taking a Camera and Video Camera, so look out in the future on this Blog, for some Great Photos etc!